Writing and reading fanfic is a masterclass in characterisation.
Consider: in order to successfully write two different “versions” of the same character – let alone ten, or fifty, or a hundred – you have to make an informed judgement about their core personality traits, distinguishing between the results of nature and nurture, and decide how best to replicate those conditions in a new narrative context. The character you produce has to be recognisably congruent with the canonical version, yet distinct enough to fit within a different – perhaps wildly so – story. And you physically can’t accomplish this if the character in question is poorly understood, or viewed as a stereotype, or one-dimensional. Yes, you can still produce the fic, but chances are, if your interest in or knowledge of the character(s) is that shallow, you’re not going to bother in the first place.
Because ficwriters care about nuance, and they especially care about continuity – not just literal continuity, in the sense of corroborating established facts, but the far more important (and yet more frequently neglected) emotional continuity. Too often in film and TV canons in particular, emotional continuity is mistakenly viewed as a synonym for static characterisation, and therefore held anathema: if the character(s) don’t change, then where’s the story? But emotional continuity isn’t anti-change; it’s pro-context. It means showing how the character gets from Point A to Point B as an actual journey, not just dumping them in a new location and yelling Because Reasons! while moving on to the next development. Emotional continuity requires a close reading, not just of the letter of the canon, but its spirit – the beats between the dialogue; the implications never overtly stated, but which must logically occur off-screen. As such, emotional continuity is often the first casualty of canonical forward momentum: when each new TV season demands the creation of a new challenge for the protagonists, regardless of where and how we left them last, then dealing with the consequences of what’s already happened is automatically put on the backburner.
Fanfic does not do this.
Fanfic embraces the gaps in the narrative, the gracenotes in characterisation that the original story glosses, forgets or simply doesn’t find time for. That’s not all it does, of course, but in the context of learning how to write characters, it’s vital, because it teaches ficwriters – and fic readers – the difference between rich and cardboard characters. A rich character is one whose original incarnation is detailed enough that, in order to put them in fanfic, the writer has to consider which elements of their personality are integral to their existence, which clash irreparably with the new setting, and which can be modified to fit, to say nothing of how this adapted version works with other similarly adapted characters. A cardboard character, by contrast, boasts so few original or distinct attributes that the ficwriter has to invent them almost out of whole cloth. Note, please, that attributes are not necessarily synonymous with details in this context: we might know a character’s favourite song and their number of siblings, but if this information gives us no actual insight into them as a person, then it’s only window-dressing. By the same token, we might know very few concrete facts about a character, but still have an incredibly well-developed sense of their personhood on the basis of their actions.
The fact that ficwriters en masse – or even the same ficwriter in different AUs – can produce multiple contradictory yet still fundamentally believable incarnations of the same person is a testament to their understanding of characterisation, emotional continuity and narrative.
So I was reading this rumination on fanfic and I was thinking about something @involuntaryorange once talked to me about, about fanfic being its own genre, and something about this way of thinking really rocked my world? Because for a long time I have thought like a lawyer, and I have defined fanfiction as “fiction using characters that originated elsewhere,” or something like that. And now I feel like…fanfiction has nothing to do with using other people’s characters, it’s just a character-driven *genre* that is so character-driven that it can be more effective to use other people’s characters because then we can really get the impact of the storyteller’s message but I feel like it could also be not using other people’s characters, just a more character-driven story. Like, I feel like my original stuff–the novellas I have up on AO3, the draft I just finished–are probably really fanfiction, even though they’re original, because they’re hitting fanfic beats. And my frustration with getting original stuff published has been, all along, that I’m calling it a genre it really isn’t.
And this is why many people who discover fic stop reading other stuff. Once you find the genre you prefer, you tend to read a lot in that genre. Some people love mysteries, some people love high-fantasy. Saying you love “fic” really means you love this character-driven genre.
So when I hear people be dismissive of fic I used to think, Are they just not reading the good fic? Maybe I need to put the good fic in front of them? But I think it turns out that fanfiction is a genre that is so entirely character-focused that it actually feels weird and different, because most of our fiction is not that character-focused.
It turns out, when I think about it, I am simply a character-based consumer of pop culture. I will read and watch almost anything but the stuff that’s going to stick with me is because I fall for a particular character. This is why once a show falters and disagrees with my view of the character, I can’t just, like, push past it, because the show *was* the character for me.
Right now my big thing is the Juno Steel stories, and I know that they’re doing all this genre stuff and they have mysteries and there’s sci-fi and meanwhile I’m just like, “Okay, whatever, I don’t care about that, JUNO STEEL IS THE BEST AND I WANT TO JUST ROLL AROUND IN HIS SARCASTIC, HILARIOUS, EMOTIONALLY PINING HEAD.” That is the fanfiction-genre fan in me coming out. Someone looking for sci-fi might not care about that, but I’m the type of consumer (and I think most fic-people are) who will spend a week focusing on what one throwaway line might reveal about a character’s state of mind. That’s why so many fics *focus* on those one throwaway lines. That’s what we’re thinking about.
And this is what makes coffee shop AUs so amazing. Like, you take some characters and you stick them in a coffee shop. That’s it. And yet I love every single one of them. Because the focus is entirely on the characters. There is no plot. The plot is they get coffee every day and fall in love. That’s the entire plot. And that’s the perfect fanfic plot. Fanfic plots are almost always like that. Almost always references to other things that clue you in to where the story is going. Think of “friends to lovers” or “enemies to lovers” or “fake relationship,” and you’re like, “Yes. I love those. Give me those,” and you know it’s going to be the same plot, but that’s okay, you’re not reading for the plot. It’s like that Tumblr post that goes around that’s like, “Me starting a fake relationship fic: Ooooh, do you think they’ll fall in love for real????” But you’re not reading for the suspense. Fic frees you up from having to spend effort thinking about the plot. Fic gives your brain space to focus entirely on the characters. And, especially in an age of plot-twist-heavy pop culture, that almost feels like a luxury. “Come in. Spend a little time in this character’s head. SPEND HOURS OF YOUR LIFE READING SO MANY STORIES ABOUT THIS CHARACTER’S HEAD. Until you know them like a friend. Until you know them so well that you miss them when you’re not hanging out with them.”
When that is your story, when the characters become like your friends, it makes sense that you’re freed from plot. It’s like how many people don’t really have a “plot” to hanging out with their friends. There’s this huge obsession with plot, but lives don’t have plots. Lives just happen. We try to shape them into plots later, but that’s just this organizational fiction we’re imposing. Plot doesn’t have to be the raison d’etre of all story-telling, and fic reminds us of that.
Idk, this was a lot of random rambling but I’ve been thinking about it a lot lately.
“fanfiction has nothing to do with using other people’s characters, it’s just a character-driven *genre* that is so character-driven that it can be more effective to use other people’s characters”
yes!!!! I feel like I knew this on some level but I’ve never explicitly thought about it that way. this feels right, yep. Mainstream fiction often seems very dry to me and I think this is why – it tends to skip right over stuff that would be a huge plot arc in a fanfic, if not an entire fanfic in itself. And I’m like, “hey, wait, go back to that. Why are you skipping that? Where’s the story?” But now I think maybe people who don’t like fanfiction are going like, “why is there an entire fanfic about something that could have happened offscreen? Is anything interesting ever going to happen here? Where’s the story?”
Yes! Exactly! This!!!
This crystallized for me when I taught my first class of fanfiction to non-fic-readers and they just kept being like, “But nothing happens. What’s the plot?” and I was so confused, like, “What are you talking about? They fall in love. That’s the plot.” But we were, I think, talking past each other. They kept waiting for some big moment to happen, but for me the point was that the little moments were the big moments.
❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️💋💋💋
Great post in general but @earlgreytea68 put into words what happened to me I relation to a lot of media – I need more about the characters. I need to know how they recovered from that scene/incident, I need to know what was said. I WANT to know what their routine is like when there is no plot (no mistery to solve, no murderer to escape).
E.g. codas are probably my favourite type of fic for tv series because there’s never enough about the characters just LIVING.
Thank you! I think many fic people just want all that off-screen stuff! And I also adore coda fics, because I really, really need for the story to just go on, and on, and on, and on. Like, there is just never enough of that for me, I feel like I would happily read forever (and then it would be bad, because I would need to eat and sleep and stuff and I would just be reading).
This is a tangent, but I went on a “Sports Night” fic reading binge a few weeks ago and the fic was all lovely and thoughtful and wow, the banter was absolutely spot-on and I was super-impressed but almost all of it ended with them getting together. Just…they got together, and that was the end. And that was great, I was glad they were together, but I just kept thinking, “But no, you’ve ended the story, and this is why my story would start.”
There’s this great fic, Like Sailing and Home Runs, that is great, and intense, and narratively clever and complex, and Dan delivers this speech into the third-to-last section, right after he and Casey get together:
“So far, I’m cruising on the euphoria of a new relationship and really, really good sex. The working together thing… It hasn’t quite hit us. So far it’s just been, you know, trying not to make out at work. Wait until we get a bad interview, a few cancelled games, and a crappy day of writing. That’s when the reality will hit.” Dan breathed in deeply and stretched his arms across the back of the couch. “But right now, it’s Euphoria City.”
And I just found myself thinking: All of that, that Dan’s talking about, that’s the interesting part of the story to me. I want to read about the bad days. Not because I want them to break up, but because I want to see how they handle it. I want to get them past Euphoria City and know they’re still going to be okay. I know it’s not what’s interesting to everyone! I totally get that! But…yeah. That’s what I want to know about.
(A very brief list of other Sports Night recs: A Form in Wax, which was a lovely slow, gradual descent into their relationship, and the in-progress All Eyes Are On You Now, which has delighted me greatly by getting them together and not being over yet. :-))
@earlgreytea68 So when are you writing us a book on the glories of character-driven fiction and why fanfic / original fic-”fanfic” is the superior genre? Because I would read the hell out of that book. ;D
Also please lend me your muses, mine are hopeless…. After the last fanfic/original fic fanfic discussion I started another original fic purposely pretending it was fanfic, and writing it in little ficlets and drabbles and
vignettes like fanfic. …..and now it’s completely gotten away from me too. So now I’m a fandom of one? *sigh*Awwwww! I like that idea of writing it in little ficlets and drabbles and vignettes! Maybe you can create your own fandom? 🙂
And I would LOVE to write this book, hahahah, it would be my manifesto.
in 10 days ireland is having a referendum to hopefully repeal the 8th amendment, which equates the life of a foetus to that of an adult
abortion is currently 100% illegal in ireland with a penelty of up to 14yrs (rape is 7yrs, if even that) and up to 10 people travel to england to access abortion every single day
if you’re irish, remember go to vote Yes on May 25th. if you’re not irish but have irish friends, remind them to go vote Yes
(rb if ya can)
(from @aisandetsarepeopletoo)
this is why worshipping the so-called “traditional family” is a load of fucking bullshit
traditional family =/= domestic abuse
I’m pretty sure that the issue was the lack of divorce rights for women. but sure, twist things to fit your agenda and spread hate about other people’s lifestyles. You’re a true social activist.
I didn’t say the traditional family equaled domestic abuse. There are lots of happy nuclear families out there.
I said worshipping the traditional family is a load of fucking bullshit.
Even right now in the United States there are religious nutjobs who think that divorce is worse than domestic abuse. Because they think the traditional family (which isn’t even traditional–the idea that a family is just one pair of hetero parents and their kids and nobody else is really recent, historically; and really geographically limited to boot) is the only right way to exist, period, end of. Unmarried people have something wrong with them, people who aren’t straight or monogamous have something wrong with them, and if he hits you, you probably did something to provoke him. They still tell women this.
People fought hard against no-fault divorce, you know that, right?? Saying, specifically, that it would be the end of the traditional family? That’s why women didn’t have divorce rights before that.
“In my personal experience, women raise their voices because they feel like they aren’t being listened to. Men raise their voices because they feel like they aren’t being obeyed”
I want this tattooed on my face
Sephora Is Launching In-Store Beauty Classes for Trans People
Well, this is really neat!
Sephora Is Launching In-Store Beauty Classes for Trans People

(source)
Whoa, I didn’t realize that it was so deliberate, I honestly thought it was unconscious
Scary, scary.
Gonna add on to this:
From the other side of the bar, I see this crap all the time. Seriously. I work at a high-density bar, and let me tell you, I have anywhere from 10-20 guys every night come up and tell me to, “serve her a stronger drink, I’m trying to get lucky tonight, know what I mean?” usually accompanied with a wink and a gesture at a girl who, in my experience, is going to go from mildly buzzed to definitively hammered if I keep serving her. Now, I like to think I’m a responsible bartender, so I usually tell guys like that to piss off, and, if I can, try to tell the girl’s more sober friends that they need to keep an eye on her.
But everyone- just so you know, most of the time, when someone you don’t know is buying you a drink, they’re NOT doing it out of a sense of cordiality, they’re buying you a drink for the sole purpose of making you let your guard down. So:Tips for getting drinks-
1. ALWAYS GO TO THE BAR TO GET YOUR OWN DRINK, DO NOT LET STRANGERS CARRY YOUR DRINKS. This is an opportune time for dropping something into your cocktail, and you’re none the wiser.
2.IF YOU ORDER SOMETHING NON-ALCOHOLIC, I promise you, the bartender doesn’t give two shits that you’re not drinking cocktails with your friends, and often, totally understands that you don’t want to let your guard down around strangers. Usually, you can just tell the bartender that you’d like something light, and that’s a big clue to us that you’re uncomfortable with whomever you’re standing next to. Again, we see this all the time.
3. If you’re in a position to where you feel uncomfortable not ordering alcohol:
Here’s a list of light liquors, and mixers that won’t get you drunk, and will still look like an actual cocktail:
X-rated + sprite = easy to drink, sweet, and 12% alcoholic content. Not strong at all, usually runs $6-$8, depending on your state.
Amaretto + sour= sweet, not strong, 26%.
Peach Schnapps+ ginger ale= tastes like mellow butterscotch, 24%.
Melon liquor (Midori, in most bars) + soda water = not overly sweet, 21%
Coffee liquor (Kahlua) +soda = not super sweet, 20%.
Hope this helps someone out!
Backing this up from years of bar tending.
Shirley temples and Roy Rodgers are just soda drinks. And have no alcohol and will normally go over someone’s head that it’s not going to get you drunk !
over-explaining everything because you’re scared of not making sense or people thinking you’re stupid
the thrilling sequel: under-explaining everything because you’re afraid of being seen as a rambling mess
the stunning conclusion: wildly varying between both based off the most recent way you’ve fucked up

It was too big to be called a sword. Massive, thick, heavy, and far too rough. Indeed, it was a heap of raw iron.
People who say bi erasure doesn’t happen need to realize Freddie Mercury is known as the most famous homosexual man when he identified himself as bisexual. If that’s not bi erasure I don’t even know.
Also PoC erasure, most people don’t know he was 100% Indian
Specifically he was Parsi.
Also raisedZeroastrian.*zoroastrian
#i dont think the white boys can handle a queer brown guy being their god
^^^
centuries of religious art featuring white-skinned blue-eyed Jesus have made that pretty clearHis real name was Farrokh Bulsara. He was born in Zanzibar.
And he was bisexual.
