lizardlicks:

susiephone:

since pride month is coming up, that also means we’re getting closer to the month when there’ll be 10000 posts reminding us that all the gay pride merch is just a corporate cash-in, that these corporations don’t care about us, that the world isn’t really any better, that none of the pride merch and ads actually mean anything, that it isn’t really progressive, blah blah blah

let me just say

i know. most people on here know. you are not the sole thinking person in a world of sheep. i promise you that the person you’re making all these points to has heard it 100 times 100 ways from 100 other people. we know, tumblr. we know

but dammit, one month a year i get rainbow everything, and that’s a breath of fresh air after eleven months of straight nonsense. i LOVE seeing pride everywhere, even if it is just a corporate cash-grab. and it’s not like i can just opt out of this capitalist society, so fuck it, imma buy all the rainbow, pride-themed, gay merch i can get my hands on.

the world is a capitalist hellhole and there is no escape, so we may as well have what fun we can with it while we try and make things better.

happy pride, folks.

And hey, you know what you can do if you want merch that doesn’t just feed the corporate wallet?  Go on Etsy, Storenvy, Society6, or just about a bazillion other websites where independent artists sell their products,and support your queer/LGBT+ artists!  Directly!  Hand them cold hard cash, there’s no better direct action than that, my dudes!

Do both! I really, truly believe that people protesting corporate pride merch, (unless they are protesting art stealing which of course they are right about. Stealing art is 100% not ok), are missing the point by a mile. It used to be that you could only find pride merch in small specialty stores that were owned and or frequented by the queer* community. The fact that enough people are safe enough to be coming out as who they are AND as allies, that multiple large corporations know they can make money off it is HUGE. People used to hold protests and try to get companies shut down for even hinting at being ok with the community. So honestly? Take my money. It has become overall unpopular to voice antigay opinions and I really think some of the bigots are going stealth and infiltrating online communities to try to turn us against one another (ace/aro exclusion; bi/pan exclusion; trans exclusion). Buy pride stuff. When possibly buy it from local artists who need to make a living, but mostly, please display pride merch so that the world can see that despite this evil administration, we are still here, queer, (or your preferred term), and fabulous.

(*queer is my identity. If it isn’t yours insert your own term/alphabet soup here. It isn’t a slur any more than all the other words for us. If you don’t like it, don’t use it, but don’t freakin’ flame me over it.)

aprillikesthings:

foxestacado:

Loo and then Rupert came to Artist Alley just to say hi to me ❤ How is this my life???

I’m literally writing Loo a note when I look up and see her in front of me! She says hi and shakes my hand and introduces herself (lol as if I didn’t know). Loo insisted on buying a “We Can Do It” shirt even though I had planned to give her one. She also saw my Sherlolly Shirt and I did the full Ask Me About My Ship demo (“So, ask me about my ship! And then I do the flash reveal) and so she got to see the Johnlock too. She thought it was funny and cute.

THEN RUPERT comes in not 20 mins later, sees that I’m with a customer and INSISTS on waiting until my customers are done, even though they were happy to step aside so that he can say hi to me. SO HE STANDS AT THE DOORWAY AND WAITS FOR LIKE 5 MINUTES and I’m going nuts knowing he’s right there and he’s there specifically to see me. THEN when I finish the transaction he comes to me, shakes my hand, and says he got “my message.” I MEAN other people have told him to come see my table and I was like UH here’s a shirt for your wife. (A few weeks ago I communicated with her via @gravesdiggers and she had asked for a Lestrade shirt when I offered, and I was going to hand it to her when I run into her during the Con). I tell him “It’s a shirt with your face on it” and he goes “the last person who needs a shirt with my face on it is her!” 😂😂 So I tell him it’s for the times he’s gone on a shoot 😂😂 He thanks me and makes sure that I actually want to give him one (yes!! Enthusiastically!!). I ask him if HE wants a shirt and he’s like NOPE 😂😂

I AM SHAKING AND CRYING

AHHHHHH I’M SO HAPPY FOR YOU!!!! ❤ ❤ ❤ 

shipvicturi:

So, I have an American friend named Jane who married this English guy about 7 years ago. They live in Sussex together (god rest their souls), and they had a little boy pretty much right after they got married. As he grew up, they figured he would have a mix of their accents with a heavy lean towards English (because he’d go to school with English kids and teachers and the like.)

That’s not how it fucking worked out at all though. Instead, he says individual words with either an American or an English accent. Like, one second he’ll be like, “Daddy, I’m knackered” and the next he’ll be like, “AY YO MA WHERE YOU AT???” Every time they send me a video I just fucking piss myself listening to this kid.

lucislilangel:

So im convinced Tom hiddleston is either a vampire or time traveler. Or god made a very good choice of human vessels throughout history

reblogging this to add that he apparently had wit like Wilde. This is one of my favorite quotes of his I just found:

deadmomjokes:

mooncustafer:

procrasimnation:

procrasimnation:

I’m watching Doomsday Preppers. These people have an unbelievably bleak view of humanity, like, I’m just saying my family survived the complete disintegration of Lebanese civil society without shanking their neighbours for water or stockpiling hand grenades.

If your reaction to a foreseen future economic collapse is to set traps and stockpile guns to kill your neighbours who want some of your huge food stock, you are broken and I have no idea how to fix you.

^^^ The ability to cooperate with others is an evolutionary advantage 

My husband and I used to think we were “preppers,” until we discovered that for most people, “prepping” means hoarding guns and ammo and bear traps and nonsense like that, and planning to turn on other survivors in the event of some society-destroying cataclysm. And here we were geeking out about woodworking and first aid and sustainable edibles foraging and water purification and subsistence farming and how best to set up an agrarian community to maximize square footage.

Turns out we’re just prepared solarpunks. I think I’m fine with that. Miss me with the toxic, gun-crazy, neighbor-hating Prepper culture and join me in my garden of native wild edibles.

I sometimes joke that if my friends with guns can keep my glorious fat self from being eaten by zombies or whatever apolaypse comes our way, I’ll be handy to have around. I can can things, sew clothes, make rope, do first aid, make candles, waterproof things with wax. Just please help me live through the initial chase sequences and we’re golden.  

I just saw a facebook photo of some friend’s kid for preschool prom. There were paper flower streamers hung behind the “couple”. She wore a princess dress. He wore a suit. As cute as I’m sure the families involved found it I was just like ‘what crazy heteronormative bullshit is this?’

Because I just can’t shut up about this show…

justwinginoverthings:

REASONS TO WATCH HARLOTS:

Written by women, produced by women, and like 90% of the main cast being women.

Female friendships like, omg. Sisters and femal rivals and female colleagues. Women who fart, who pee, who sweat, who get scared, who lie, who have all the Deep Issues (doubting one self worth, wanting more for life, struggling o move up in the world, etc.) men usually have in tv. 

No muted cold ugly ass color palette, oh no, here in this show there is COLOR.

18th century fashion!!! Wigs! Men with makeup!!! Gratuitous french!!!

Actual realistic potrayal of the world’s oldest profession. Actual realistic potrayal of how this affected women mentally and physically.

But even thought its a difficult subject they laugh and they party and the joke and find some remote happiness in gritty dirty London. They stick up for each other.

People of color! Interracial relationships!!! Biracial children!!!!!!!

Plantation owners, religious zalots, men judging women for earning a living all potrayed as the antagonistic assholes they are.

I guess this could be argued, but the only ones who look ridiculous or degrading in the sex scenes are men.

The main conflict between two rival brothels is driven by their madams, mature women who don’t get less screentime than their younger co-stars. Nor are they treated as less attractive, less capable or less important.

You WILL fall in love with Charlotte (Lady Sybil from Downton Abbey!!!) and Lucy Wells. Also the plot is quite entertaining because Margarate Wells is a heroine you can empathize with, even through her debatable actions she’s a nice person and Lydia is such a despicable villain it is just entertaining to see these two fight.

Three episodes have aired and so far I have yet to find some character inconsistency or some unbearable mistake that makes me turn away,

Its on Hulu, there’s torrents to download it out there, WATCH IT.