cityofbone:

this is the second time that katy perry’s sexually harassed a teenage boy in the past year.

at the 2017 iheartmusic awards, she grabbed shawn mendes butt. he was visibly shaken by it, and said, “i’m just stunned. i’ve never met her before”. instead of taking it seriously, most people turned it into a joke, and she never got in trouble for it.

and now, she’s kissed a 19 year old american idol contestant, which is not only unprofessional, but he said that it was without his consent and that it made him uncomfortable, and that even if she had asked for his consent first, he would have said no. but instead of taking it seriously and firing her, people (especially men) are telling him to “get over it” and that “at least you got kissed by katy perry” and she gets to keep her job. if it was a man kissing a 19 year old girl contestant, people would demanding that he get fired, and they would probably do so, no questions asked.

i’m so tired of living in a society where men aren’t taken seriously if they’re sexually harassed by women.

i’m so tired of living in a society where women sexually harass men and get away with it, just because they’re women. they deserve to pay the consequences for it, just like when a man sexually harasses a woman.

I was walking behind a woman for five minutes and she got catcalled three times.

squirrellygirlart:

futureblackwakandan:

i-do-not-fangirl-i-fanwoman:

thingsididntknowwereerotic:

rafi-dangelo:

I usually walk everywhere with my headphones on, but I had them in my bag and I was reading a book on my phone instead (I do that when the foot traffic is light).  A young Latina was coming down the street as I was coming up the avenue, and when she got to the corner a few paces ahead of me, she turned to walk in the direction I was going.  We were traveling at the same speed, but since she was like ten paces ahead and it’s bright outside in the middle of the day, I didn’t feel the need to fall back or slow down to give her more space. At night, I try not to walk too close behind women just so they don’t feel like I’m any sort of threat.

We got to a corner and this dude standing outside of the bodega was like, “Slow down mama where you goin? You don’t have to work today, you can stop and speak.”

She didn’t break her stride. “I’m going to the gym.”  The Walk sign was on, so I didn’t break mine either.  

A block later, a young guy was coming toward us on the sidewalk riding his bike.

“What’s good shorty?”

She didn’t respond.

“Well you was lookin, you can say something, stuck up bitch.”

We kept walking.

In the middle of the next block, an older man was walking toward us and he put on a friendly smile and said, “Smile young lady, it’s a beautiful day.”

I don’t know if she smiled, but we kept walking. She went into the gym and I kept on toward where I was going thinking about how that was just five minutes of her day.  How many other blocks of five minutes are just like that?  

Only one of them was truly aggressive. The other two guys seemed nice enough and it felt more like a pleasant compliment. It felt like the kind of thing a guy says who argues with women online about catcalling. “We’re not all bad guys. We can’t even compliment women? We can’t even say something nice?”

No.  You really can’t.  I was annoyed in that five minutes and I just happened to be walking behind her with no headphones on.  Can you imagine those five minutes over and over every day of your life?  Nobody wants to be spoken to by strangers day in and day out forever regardless of what they’re saying.  

So no.  You can’t say anything. The quality of your life has not decreased because you aren’t allowed to say nice things to strange women on the sidewalk, but your silence greatly increases the quality of hers.  So just be quiet, and let her go where she’s going.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

I’m gonna add to this.

You want to be nice?

“Good morning” works just fine. And that’s IF the person makes eye contact and seems open to it. Y’all KNOW when someone’s in a don’t-talk-to-me-don’t-even-look-at-me mood. It’s written all over their face and shines beacon-bright through their body language.

In that case don’t. Just leave them the fuck alone.

Also on the subject of just being nice by giving complements.

If that’s all you have in mind, then you’re complementing EVERYBODY right?

You’re saying something nice to fat women right? And butch women, and grizzled old guys, and nerdy people with zits, and homeless folks, right?

RIGHT?

Or is it just thin, conventionally attractive women and no one else?

Yeah.

I thought so.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^ that last bit of tea was piping hot!

Seriously though, catcalling, when it doesn’t turn hostile when not responded to in a way the speaker desires, is a form of micro-aggression against females. 

The next time you want to tell a woman to smile, ask yourself if you are gonna do the same to any strange guy you see walking down the street.

The next time you ask a woman where she is going, think about your sister, or daughter, or mother being asked that by a strange man they don’t know.

Catcalling is basically you saying to an absolute stranger that you feel entitled to interrupt their life and get a positive response from them. And that is terrifying.

It’s a form of social-assault with no safe exit for women to take. Because even if you don’t turn hostile at our reaction, or lack thereof, we still have to be prepared for the “might”. 

You get to move on with your day, while we get to prepare for the next attack.

And if you think “Yeah, but I’m one of the good guys…” guess what? If you catcall, you aren’t. Period. Because a good guy would never put a woman in a position where she had to question whether or not you were a good guy.

anauthorandherservicedog:

elfwreck:

lesbeet:

lesbeet:

lesbeet:

listen i know a lot of you think that judaism is just like….christianity but with some cool more ~ethnique~ holidays or whatever but if you’re approaching your interpretation of judaism within any sort of framework related to xtianity you’re doing it entirely wrong

“the torah says [x]” doesn’t mean “the torah says this and so this is what everyone does bc that’s the torah”

“the torah says [x]” means “for the next several thousand years people are going to argue about what exactly this means, what the loopholes are, how many different ways this can be interpreted, whether we should even follow it, and hey maybe gd isn’t even real so maybe the question is how this impacts us and our society, what are the implications, etc”

judaism is not “the torah says sodomy is an abhorrence therefore the entire religion is intrinsically homophobic and gd hates gays and is gonna send us to hell for being gay” because that is not how judaism works AT ALL

if you’re a prospective convert, if you’re someone who’s interested in theology, if you’re someone who thinks you know enough about judaism to talk about it on the internet, it is ESSENTIAL to understand these things.

judaism is not, and has never been, xtianity. not just because of our holidays. not just because we don’t believe that jesus is the messiah. but because we have a fundamentally different philosophy about gd, the torah, and how we should live our lives.

this is ok to rb btw

ykw goyim can reblog this too just don’t be stupid

One of the things I love about Judaism, as an outsider, is that apparently the rabbis got together a long long time ago, and decided, “the IMPORTANT part of this religion, is that people be decent to each other. When you love your family and respect your neighbors and are polite to strangers, and you strive to do well at your job and to understand that even very strange or damaged people are worthy of consideration… you are living the true holy path.”

And also, “Okay, so, we got all this scripture stuffs, lots of scripture, says lots of things. … How do we interpret it so that it agrees with that?”

THIS THIS THIS

Are there hardline Jews who believe there’s One True Interpretation and All Others Are WRONG? Absolutely.

But for the most part? It’s about what feels right for you and what does right for the community. It’s about bringing light into your life, into your community, and letting that light shine out to change the world.

So yeah, outsiders get caught up in “But you ~can’t~ eat cheeseburgers because the Torah says so!” and I’m all “I do what I can to help myself, my people, and the world, but take my cheeseburger and I will stab you with my fork.”

Okay, maybe that last part isn’t Jewish, but this is what INFURIATES me about people who try to get picky at me and tell me I’m doing Judaism wrong.

Because Judaism isn’t all about “tick off all these boxes, play-act through these ceremonies, and you get to go to Heaven and laugh your ass off at all the schmucks who went to Hell.”

Fun fact for you, pals: Russians don’t always think in English when listening to English songs. And you have no idea how weird that can be.

annevbonny:

martizz:

rubistudy:

iuliaolmeda:

marzipanandminutiae:

luminarai:

erebusodora:

fictionalred:

degenezijde:

erebusodora:

breathofthechild:

uuuhshiny:

erebusodora:

I know most of you never thought about that, but… GUYS.

“What Can I Do” [wɒt kæn aɪ duː] sounds awfully like “водки найду” [vɒtki naɪduː], which means “I’m gonna find some vodka”.

“Can’t Buy Me Love” [kɑːnt baɪ miː lʌv] is another gem, because I know a whole bunch of people who sing along to that with the phrase “кинь бабе лом” [kɪŋˈbɑːbi lom], which means “throw a crowbar to that [tough] woman”.

Don’t be alarmed, that’s just the way we hear things. 

I do that even when I’m sober… T_T

Michael Jackson’s “I’m bad” sounds awfully close to “Обед” [abed], which translates as “Dinner”. So we often call this song ”The song of a very hungry man” 😉

It happens in spanish too!

“I wanna love you” sounds like “Agua en el hoyo” (water in the hole) and a lot of people sing it that way instead.

See also “This is the rhythm of the night” -> “¿Esos son Rebook o son Nike?” (Are those Rebook or Nike?)

I see this entry is revived))

I need to make another example: “Let’s twist again, like we did last summer”, the “ like we did last summer” is often sung like, “и трусы с лавсаном (and the underpants with lavsan)”. I’ve seen people singing that in karaoke. As you might have guessed, that… amplifies the fun a bit.

To conclude this part, I also need to make an honourable mention. Thanks to Taika Waititi, “VLADISLAV! Baby don’t hurt me…” has gone GLOBAL)))

In Dutch, these are called “mama appelsapjes”, in honour of the refrain in Michael Jackson’s “Wanna be starting something”, which sounds a bit like “mama apple juice”.

The real classic, however, is “ik zat alleen in een vuile kameel” (I sat alone in a dirty camel), heard in “Down under” by Man at Work.

My fave will always be the opening lines of “This Sex Is On Fire”. I genuinely have no idea what the actual English lines are, but in Dutch it sounds like 

“Eeuwen geleden                                      (Centuries ago)

Ik kom met het zout”                                  (I come with the salt)

Doesn’t even make any good sense but it manages the get me going every time.

It gets better!! We need more stories like that ;} Other languages, anyone?

oh my god, this is a huge thing in denmark with coldplay’s yellow. the lyric “your skin, oh yeah your skin and bones” unmistakably sounds like the danish “jeg sked, åh ja jeg sked en bums” which in turns means “I shat, oh yeah I shat a pimple”. it’s gotten to the point where it’s such a beloved joke nationwide that coldplay has been informed of it and find it very difficult to play the song in denmark because people simultaneously scream the wrong lyrics and lose their shit completely

I watched a Buzzfeed video about this and now I can’t hear Sweet Dreams Are Made of This without thinking “sin jeans al mediodia” (without jeans at noon)

Hay agua en el refri (I want to break free) is my favourite

The one direction song “one thing” is famous in France for beginning with “ive tried playing it cool” which sounds a hell lot like “attrape les mes couilles” in French :’)

AC/DC Highway to hell: when it goes “like a wheel, gonna spin it” in Italian it totally sounds like “le galline con le spine” which means “the chickens with the spurs” (?)

Since someone pointed it out to me I can’t I unhear it

it’s widely known in turkish pop culture that the french song “si tu savais combien je t’aime” sounds like “sutu seven kamyon soforu” which means “the truck driver likes milk” ???

I love all of these. If you are at all interested in just misheard lyrics, this book makes me giggle endlessly.It is named for Jimi Hendrix’s famous ‘scuse me while I kiss the sky, which sounds pretty much exactly like “ ‘scuse me while I kiss this guy