the two methods of fic writing:

damijon-supersons:

soundofez:

  1. don’t think don’t breathe don’t question where the inspiration came from just wriTE LIKE THE WIND BEFORE IT LEAVES
  2. meticulously plan the plot out until you actually have to write the story and then struggle and suffer

bonus method: no inspiration OR plot just an idea that you want to keep working on but you just stare at the screen blankly with tears running slowly down your face

Number 2 is me every time

I am all of these. Sometimes in the same day

firebirdscratches:

sevi007:

sevi007:

Since telling my Mum that I considered myself ace, I already noticed that she was a bit… too interested, if you want to say it like that. Asking for “signs”, or how being ace feels like… I tried to answer her to the best of my ability, giving her links to websites that would explain better as I ever could.

Today she said, very quietly, “Do you think I could be ace, too?”

And I said very carefully “If you think it suits you, I don’t see why not”

And my Mum, my strong, self-confident Mum, who never once  has ever felt uncomfortable in her own skin as far as I know, beamed in relief. Relief

 Because she never knew. Because getting married young and bearing children for her husband (meaning sex) was expected of her. Because everyone gave her the feeling as if something would be wrong or broken about her if she didn’t want, didn’t do that.

Because her whole life long, she thought there was something wrong with her.

I’m honestly torn between feeling happy and relieved for her, and angry that humanity has such trouble with showing some understanding to those who don’t fit in the boxes society has designed for all of us.

Update: My
Mum was getting ready for bed when I noticed her humming loudly around her
toothbrush and I asked her what the good mood was about.

 

She beamed
around a mouth-full of toothpaste and said, very proudly and deliberately, “I
think I like that, being ace.”

And continued
on with her brushing, humming a bit louder.

 

(Or in
other words, I’m more than a little bit teary eyed.)

I had almost the exact same conversation with my Mom. We were talking about the LGBT acronym and explained that it’s LGBTQ and that some people add the PIA at the end as well. And she asked me “What’s the a?” So when I explained it she said immediately “Me. That’s like me.”

This is why I get so mad at people who think this is all just trendy bs, people just don’t have the vocabulary or permission to describe their lived experience.

A little louder  people just don’t have the vocabulary or permission to describe their lived experience.

berlynn-wohl:

Keep an eye out for SERVICE EXTROVERT buttons at 221BCon. People wearing these buttons make friends by adopting introverts, and will assist with con-related interpersonal tasks that you might lack the spoons for. Feel free to sit near a Service Extrovert and/or ask them for a moment of their time.

@berlynn-wohl and @aprillikesthings will be wearing them. See Berlynn
[who?]

if you’d like one to wear.

221B Con Intro Post!

(Less useful than some of these, since I can’t post my picture on this blog, but maybe it will help someone?)

Name: Bel

Pronouns: She/Her (though if I’m dressed as John Watson then He/Him is fine too. I’m not really fussed about pronouns)

Age: 38

Location: Los Angeles, CA

What do you do in fandom: Write (usually johnlock or occasionally johnlockary), Beta for a bunch of people, and occasionally draw

How long are you staying: Friday-Monday

How are you getting there: Airplane (Southwest, I think?)

Cosplays: John Watson, don’t know what day, maybe more than one depending on my headspace. (Last year at con was the first time my genderqueer self went out in public as a guy and it felt awesome!) 

Where to find me: I’ll be on the 50 Shades of Ace (18+) panel at 2 PM on Saturday and the Freaks in Love kink panel at 9 PM Saturday

Other than that, 

probably near @merindab since we’ve known each other like 6 years and finally get to meet in person!

Drinks: occasionally

Hugs: Definitely!

Pictures: Go for it, but don’t tag me as Bel or beltainefaerie if you post them (I can give you what to tag in person and/or I’d love you to send them to me) and please, please, please don’t post it like ‘here was that lady from the kink panel’. I keep my face and fandom work separated online for a reason!

Anything Else: I have social anxiety but I am really, really excited to meet people. I’m truly terrible with names, so if I met you last year and don’t remember who you are, please don’t take offense!

Contact Details: I’m beltainefaerie pretty much everywhere (on here, AO3, googlehangouts)