Okay, it’s enough.

madlori:

I have loooooong resisted writing about this because I feared it would sound like the ultimate douchebaggery to complain about something having anything to do with getting reviews, and people reacting with emotion to something I wrote.

But you know what? I’m done. I’m going to complain about it.

Do you have. ANY IDEA. How many times I have been told to fuck off, told “I hate you,” told a wide variety of hostile-sounding things because of “Alone on the Water?”

Tonight’s quote, the one that really sent me over the edge: 

I hate you. I hate myself. I hate the internet. I am weak, I am empty, and all that I know is that I. Hate. You. I am finding it hard to breathe, and I can’t see.

Thank you, Spawn of Satan. Stratch that, you are something worse than Satan.***off.

Yeah, okay.

Before you dogpile me, I am 100% aware that this person is saying this because the story affected them. In the weird world of Tumblr opposite-speak hyperbole, this is a GOOD review. But reading those words with my own two eyes still doesn’t feel great.

When you post about how Chris Evan’s latest photoshoot is ruining your life and you hate him, when you really mean the opposite, Chris cannot hear you saying that. I CAN FUCKING HEAR YOU. I see and read every single review on this story, and all the other stories. I hear it every time someone tells me to fuck off and die, that they want to kill me, that they hate me SO MUCH because they’re crying SO HARD.

Great. I’m glad the story worked for you. Can you not fling those words at me? Maybe? If it were once in awhile, whatever. But it’s every. damn. day.

I hate saying this because I should be happy that people are still reviewing with such frequency a story I wrote eight years ago. And I am. It’s gratifying to know the story still finds new readers.

I can think that and still not be thrilled to be told to fuck off on the reg.

I legit know people who have quit writing entirely or at least left entire fandoms, based on this kind of review. It isn’t cute. It isn’t good. Words have power and it is never ok to treat writers like this unless you have their explicit permission that they are pleased to be met with this kind of sarcastic or hyperbolic review. 

siryouarebeingmocked:

hst3000:

libertarirynn:

kidlazer:

libertarirynn:

So my friend was telling me yesterday that she got a new Samsung smart TV for her living room. One afternoon she was sitting on the couch across on the TV, which was turned off, talking to her friend about social anxiety.

The next day her Samsung phone, Facebook account, and her son’s Instagram account (which is linked to her phone number) were blown up with ads for social anxiety medications.

She called Samsung up like “WTF“ and they admitted that it was a “feature“ on the smart TV for it to record conversations even when turned off in order to provide customized ads. You could turn off the setting but of course you probably wouldn’t even know about it unless something like this happened because it’s not like they readily advertise “this thing will record your conversations even when it’s turned off“.

this ain’t alright with me … bitch what the fuck 

https://www.cnet.com/news/samsungs-warning-our-smart-tvs-record-your-living-room-chatter/

Right to Privacy Amendment. Right. The fuck. NOW.

My brother has a sticker over the mic on his TV, against precisely this nonsense.

It’s sad what some Dominants teach their subs.

instructor144:

I’ve been talking to a potential new sub for a few months now. She has some mental health issues but I’m a MH nurse so that’s not an issue for me.
But she was having a hard day today and she vented to me and cried and I said she wanted to self harm. I gave her a task instead, she was to write me a short story about an adventure. She did and it was good and it helped improve her mood.

A few hours later she said she thinks she needs to apologise, ‘i shouldn’t be talking to my dominant about my problems.’

My heart felt crushed hearing her say that. What kind of experiences must she have haad to come away with that idea of the dynamic.
Obviously I told her that dominance is about much more than sex and the her wellbeing and heppiness is my responsibility.

But I just wanted to say to anyone exploring BDSM that your Dom or your sub is so much more than a sexual partner. You have to be able to confide in them, to be vulnerable Infront of them (especially important for a Dom in my opinion) and to trust them with your emotions as well as your body.

I thought this would be a good blog to share this on. Thanks for reading.

———

This ^^^